Coolamon Rotary Bulletin #1819-2

Week of 9th July

A small but dedicated turn out of members and their guest were at the meeting to greet newly minted President Daryl and District Governor John this week. Daryl asked the members put their thinking hats on regarding the efforts and direction of Coolamon Rotary over the course of the next 12 months. Wayne also informed members of  an opportunity to help remote aboriginal populations in the prevention and treatment of trachoma by funding the cost of transporting a container of goods and medicines that will aid in the battle against this condition. The Fred Hollows foundation has more information if you are interested.

Guest Speaker:  District Governor John Glassford

Our very own John Glassford, the new District Governor, gave a talk on his vision of what he and District 9700 are aiming to achieve for Rotary and its causes in the coming year.  Central to his message was that he and the district are there to serve the members in Rotary to do the good work that they do in their communities and he encouraged clubs to tell him what they need. However, he also reminded us that we can support Rotary by talking about what it is we do and why we do it  – because we care about each other and our communities.

John then went on to outline some of the causes he will be supporting as DG for the year. These included:

  • A legacy time capsule in each peace town and village to commemorate the 100 anniversary of armistice  to end World War 1. The capsules will be opened 100 years from now and will raise money for Legacy.
  • A Polio Plus bike torch relay  with a goal to raise $500,000 by riding through every town in the district. The money raised will help eradicate polio worldwide and with only 11 cases diagnosed this year this is a real possibility
  • The District Conference in Griffith with fantastic line up of guest speakers to help celebrate and promote women in Rotary.

We all look forward to an exciting Rotary year ahead.

District Govenor John Glassford



*Monday, July 16th – Fellowship and brainstorming meeting.  Coolamon Sport & Rec Club, 6:30 for 7:00 pm.

Wednesday, July 18th – Board meeting.

Thursday, August 9th – Bingo. Allawah Lodge, 7:00-10:00. Neil (captain), Garth, Bern & Ivan.

Thursday, September 13th – Bingo. Allawah Lodge, 7:00-10:00. Wayne (Captain),  Dave,  Bruce & Howard.

* denotes partner & guest night

Community Events

Up to date Art exhibition Friday 27th July  – 12th August, For further information please email: [email protected]


Please get your working with children check completed and give the number and expiry date to the Secretary ASAP. Failure to do so may mean you are not covered insurance wise when you volunteer at events.




Chartered March 3rd, 1971; Sponsoring Club Narrandera Rotary Club
President: Daryl Breust 0409 551 140
President-Elect: Wayne Lewis 6927 3501
Service Projects: 
Secretary: Paul Weston  6927 2972
Treasurer: Henk Hulsman 6927 3486
Rotary Foundation Director: Neil Munro 6927 3156
Club Admin Director: 
Youth Director: Dave McKinley 6927 8553
Membership Director: Wayne Lewis 6927 3501
Public Image Directors: Myffy Collette 6927 6313 / Bernadette Milne
Immediate Past President: Paul Weston  6927 2972
Sergeant @ Arms: Ted Hutcheon 6927 3349
Bulletin Editor: Sarah Collins 0448 118 003 and Grahame Miles



District Governor: John Glassford {Membership Retention} Coolamon

District Governor-Elect: John McKenzie {Service Projects} Orange North

District Governor Nominee {New District}: Michael Moore

Immediate Past District Governor: George Weston {Youth} Leeton

Foundation Director: PDG David Kennedy {Foundation} Blayney

Secretary: PP David Benn {Administration} Wollundry Wagga Wagga

Treasurer Finance & Audit: PP Doug Conkey {Budget} Wollundry Wagga Wagga

Communications Director: PP Paul Murray {Public Image} Wollundry

Millennials Director: PP Clare Lawlor {Membership Millennials} Wagga CSU Rotaract

Associate Member: AG Julie Poplin {Assistant Governors}

Other District Appointments

Executive Secretary and Web Master: PP Paul Murray Wollundry Wagga Wagga

District Trainer: PP Geraldine Rurenga Wagga Wagga Murrumbidgee

PETS Facilitator: PDG Tony Monley D9810

Public Officer: PDG Ian Tooke Blayney

2019 Griffith D9700 Conference Chair: PP Ross Grillo Griffith

DIO Insurance/Risk Management: PP Sam Catanzariti Griffith

COL 2019 Representative: PDG Gary Roberts

We are still looking at appointing one more Assistant Governor.

We are also looking at the structure of all the Standing Committees and the Special Committees.

We will post all further news on D9700 2018-2019 on my DGJG Blog:

DG JG 9700 2018-2019


President: Barry Rassin, RC of East Nassau The Bahamas

District 9700 Governor: John Glassford, RC of Coolamon

District 9700 Governor Elect: John McKenzie RC of Orange North