Coolamon Rotary News Bulletin #23

Monday 25th June

President Paul welcomed 20 members, including infrequently seen Will C, plus guests Helen L, Peta & Charlie Wykes, Jan N, Jan B, Sharon M, Maureen H, Digby, Jodie & Abigail Graham, Lexi F & last but not least our exchange student Lucia.

Secretary John B read out correspondence before we settled down for a beaut Chinese banquet, which was enjoyed by all except John N, who was spoilt with prawn cutlets, etc.   

Paul called for volunteers for several activities taking place this week  –

Cutting/splitting firewood on Thursday arvo for Saturday’s street raffle. Contact Wayne (6927 3501) for directions if you’re able to help.

Setting up Ganmain Hall on Friday at 1 pm for the changeover on Saturday night. 

Street raffle on Saturday morning (6:00-noon).

President Paul thanked all members for their contributions over the past year, noting that Monday’s meeting was the last of his year as president.


Guest Speaker, Lucia Bohnsack

Lucia then did a fantastic presentation of her experiences during her year in Australia, showing slides of her host families, many of the places she has visited, Australian holidays she has experienced and how they differ from those in Germany, some of the Aussie colloquialisms she has learnt, and some of the uniquely Aussie foods she has come to enjoy such as Vegemite, meat pies, Golden Gaytimes, Pavlova, Milo, snags, Tim Tams, etc. Paul thanked Lucia and presented her with a pair of earrings to serve as an additional souvenir of her time in Coolamon, Lucia’s new home on the other side of the world.  Lucia invited all in attendance to visit her and her family if they’re ever in Germany.


Lucia gave a wonderful talk on her experiences in Australia. Her bright and open personality means touched everyone heart in some way and she will be missed by her host families and the rotary club in general when she returns home.


Image result for germany australia


Quote of the Week

Who said this?

“Change your thoughts and you change your world.”

Last week’s Quote of the Week was attributed to Tony Abbott.


A number of members have not been sending in apologies when they are unable to attend our weekly meeting.  This causes problems for the caterer and our club, and results in wasted food.  We will be strictly enforcing the policy of charging members for meals if they have not sent in an apology, whether they are in attendance or not.


For those of you following the Soccer this week 

Image result for soccer memes australia


Saturday, 30th June – Street Raffle.   Coolamon Newsagency, 7:00 am – noon.

*Saturday, 30th June – Coolamon Rotary Changeover and District 9700 Changeover.  Ganmain Hall, 6:00 pm til finish.

Monday July 2nd – No meeting owing to changeover.

Monay July 9th – Guest Speaker. DG John Glassford visit to Coolamon Rotary, 6:30 for 7:00 pm. Meeting with board beforehand.

Thursday, July 12th – Bingo. Allawah Lodge, 7:00-10:00. Henk (captain), John B, Ivan, Sarah.

* denotes partner & guest night

Community Events

Up to date Art exhibition Friday 27th July  – 12th August, For further information please email: [email protected]


Please get your working with children check completed and give the number and expiry date to the Secretary ASAP. Failure to do so may mean you are not covered insurance wise when you volunteer at events.




Chartered March 3rd, 1971; Sponsoring Club Narrandera Rotary Club
President: Paul Weston  6927 2972
President-Elect & Service Projects:  Daryl Breust 0409 551 140
Secretary:  John Bond 0427 273 226
Treasurer: Henk Hulsman 6927 3486
Rotary Foundation Director: Neil Munro 6927 3156
Club Admin Director: Don Dyce 6929 1215
Youth Director: Dave McKinley 6927 8553
Service Projects {Vocational} Director: Ian Jennings 6927 3390
Membership Director: Wayne Lewis 6927 3501
Public Image Director: Myffy Collette 6927 6313
Immediate Past President: Don Dyce 6929 1215
Sergeant @ Arms: Ted Hutcheon 6927 3349
Bulletin Editor: Sarah Collins 0448 118 003 and Grahame Miles



June is Rotary Fellowships Month

Rotary Fellowships consist of members who share a common interest in recreational activities, sports, hobbies, or professions. These groups help expand skills, foster vocational development, and enhance the Rotary experience by exploring interests while developing connections around the world.




District 9700 Board 2018-2019

The 2018-2019 D9700 Board is coming together nicely and the restructure is going to work and work well.  DGN John McKenzie and DG George Weston are committed to making it work, as are the others on this much smaller Board: The 9700 district that the Coolamon Rotary club was a member of has now been split. Coolamon Rotary will now be a part of District 9705 as of 2020. Details will be updated as they arrive.

District Governor: John Glassford {Membership Retention} Coolamon

District Governor-Elect: John McKenzie {Service Projects} Orange North

District Governor Nominee {New District}: Michael Moore

Immediate Past District Governor: George Weston {Youth} Leeton

Foundation Director: PDG David Kennedy {Foundation} Blayney

Secretary: PP David Benn {Administration} Wollundry Wagga Wagga

Treasurer Finance & Audit: PP Doug Conkey {Budget} Wollundry Wagga Wagga

Communications Director: PP Paul Murray {Public Image} Wollundry

Millennials Director: PP Clare Lawlor {Membership Millennials} Wagga CSU Rotaract

Associate Member: AG Julie Poplin {Assistant Governors}

Other District Appointments

Executive Secretary and Web Master: PP Paul Murray Wollundry Wagga Wagga

District Trainer: PP Geraldine Rurenga Wagga Wagga Murrumbidgee

PETS Facilitator: PDG Tony Monley D9810

Public Officer: PDG Ian Tooke Blayney

2019 Griffith D9700 Conference Chair: PP Ross Grillo Griffith

DIO Insurance/Risk Management: PP Sam Catanzariti Griffith

COL 2019 Representative: PDG Gary Roberts

We are still looking at appointing two more Assistant Governors.

We are also looking at the structure of all the Standing Committees and the Special Committees.

We will post all further news on D9700 2018-2019 on my DGJG Blog:

DG JG 9700 2018-2019


President Ian Riseley RC of Sandringham Melbourne

President Elect Barry Rassin RC of East Nassau The Bahamas

District 9700 Governor George Weston RC of Leeton

District 9700 Governor Elect John Glassford RC of Coolamon

District 9700 Governor Nominee John McKenzie RC of Orange North