Happy 40th Birthday Coolamon Rotary Club!

President Ian Durham and Charter Member George Hutcheon cutting the cake


40 Years Ago May 8th. 1971 our Charter was presented to the Coolamon Rotary Club by District Governor Keith Grainger of D 270.

The following members were the Charter members on that night:

+William Chittick Innes                      WC and JM Innes                                               Farmer

Michael Joseph Curtis                          Coolamon Shire Council                                Shire Clerk

John William Agnew                            Education Department Secondary        Principal

Murray Ernest Nash                              Coolamon Shire Council                               Shire Engineer

Ronald Laurence Francis                    Postal Services                                                  Postmaster

Brian John Harvey                                Methodist Church                                             Minister

Bruce Mckane                                            Presbyterian Church                                     Minister

Herbert Ronald Hopkins                       HR Hopkins                                                       Principal

Donald Henry Hoore                             Church of England                                        Rector

Robert George Furner                          RG and M Furner                                            Farmer

Charle John McCoy                                Coolamon Caravan park                         Principal

Lionel Keith West                                    LK and VE West                                              Licencee

Eric Hornby                                                Coolamon Dry Cleaners                           Manager

*George Leonard Hutcheon                  Hutcheon and Pearce                           Manager

Kenneth Lancelot Logan                      Coolamon Motors                                       Principal

Edward Ronald Butterfield                   Coolamon Pharmacy                            Principal

John Renwick Eyles                             Coolamon Shire Council                           Health Surveyor

Robert Gerard Allen                             RG Allen Coaches                                           Principal

Desmond Patrick Faggatter                  Department of Education                 Deputy Principal

Benny Raymond Dumbrell                   Northern Riverina County Council        District Manager

*Current Member

+Current Honourary member


President Ian Durham welcomed all our members and our guests to our birthday party and said how proud he was to be our President during our 40th year as a Rotary Club.  Ian read out a birthday message from Kay Hull the former Federal Member for the Riverina:

“I was so thrilled to get your invite for the 40th celebration, and then looked at the date and found I am in Sydney that evening at a Board Meeting for Can Assist.

Please convey a sincere apology for Graeme and myself.

I do hope your celebration is fabulous and thanks to the club for all that you do for the people of Coolamon and District. We are so lucky to have such motivation.

Warmest wishes as always.”

Kay Hull

There were several birthday greetings, amongst many sent, read out by our members and past members present that we received from the following clubs and districts around the world:

RC Clark Centennial D 3790 Angeles City, Philippines

RC of Milford, Auckland, New Zealand D 9910

RC of Cumberland Centennial, BC, Canada, D5020

RC Escondido Sunrise  District 5340 San Diego County, California USA

Strathcona Sunrise Rotary Club Courtenay, BC, Canada

Guayaquil Rotary Club in Ecuador D 4400

Rotary Club of Hudson, Florida USA in District 6950

RC Nakuru The Great Rift Valley Kenya D9200

Rotary Club of Rawalpindi, RI District 3272. Pakistan

RC of Las Vegas, New Mexico

RC Bellavista-Atizapán – Distrito 4170 México

Rotary Club of Loyola Heights RID 3780 Quezon City, Philippines

Rotary Club of Seneca, South Carolina USA District 7750, in the land of the crying mountains

District Governor Todd Lindley D 6060 Missouri sent a special message, which is below.

Letter-Coolamon President Ian Durham-May 2 2011-3